Pfleger is unquestionably one of the most fascinating baroque masters of Northern Europe of the seventeenth-century. Embodiying the transition between Schütz and the heritage of Monteverdi on one side, and the music of Buxtehude and later Bach on the other, Pfleger’s music testifies to the musical culture of Northern Europe.

Orkester Nord here proposes for the first time a full-length programme set up as one coherent dramatic work, connecting Pfleger’s key cantatas in order to form a continuous narrative, as told through the voices of its recurring protagonists. What emerges is the story of the life of Christ. A fascinating soundscape.
Available exclusively online:
Orkester Nord
Martin Wåhlberg
Vox Nidrosiensis
Natalie Pérez, soprano
Gunhild Alsvik, soprano
Samuel Boden, tenor
Victor Sordo Vicente, tenor
Håvard Stensvold, bass